top of page

Full Score, Orchestral Parts, and Narration

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel
Book by Virginia Lee Burton

Composer: Stephen Simon
Format: Print
Time: ca. 18:17

Series: Stories in Music™
Publisher: Maestro Classics ​

Audio Sample:

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel
00:00 / 01:07
Mike Mulligan sheet music


This classic tale of Mike Mulligan and his beautiful red steam shovel named Mary Anne combines the themes of friendship, loyalty, perseverance, and aging. As the accomplishments of Mike and Mary Anne are detailed, snippets from children's songs can be heard: "The Erie Canal", "What Shall We Do with the Drunken Sailor", and "She'll Be Comin' Round the Mountain."


  • Narrator

  • Piccolo

  • Flute I

  • Flute II

  • Oboe I

  • Oboe II

  • Clarinet I 

  • Clarinet II

  • Bassoon I

  • Bassoon II

  • Horn I

  • Horn II

  • Horn III

  • Horn IV

  • Trumpet I

  • Trumpet II

  • Trumpet III

  • Trombone I

  • Trombone II

  • Trombone III

  • Tuba

  • Timpani

  • Percussion I

  • Percussion II*

  • Bagpipes

  • Violin I

  • Violin II

  • Viola

  • Cello

  • Bass

​*snare drum; anvil; brass bell with clapper; 2 scuba tanks with valve to make sound of compressed air (sounds like steam)

Step 1: Fill Out Rental Contract

Step 2: Purchase Full Score

Mike Mulligan sheet music score rental
Mike Mulligan sheet music score rental
Mike Mulligan Orchestral Score
Rental Includes: Full Score, Orchestral Parts, & Narration
bottom of page